I Landed a 100k Software Position as my First Job — This is How

Elizabeth Westphal
3 min readFeb 21, 2022

So you’re applying to jobs. Maybe its your first time, maybe it’s your tenth. How do you stand out to recruiters and secure a high salary? This is what I did, and what I wish I had done earlier to secure a six figure salary.

Let’s start with the obvious: don’t accept a sub 100k salary.

As a developer, whether you have a CompSci degree or are a bootcamp graduate there is no need to settle for less than 90–100k even as your first job. It is important to remember that companies are desperate to find capable developers, and aside from small startups they do have the funds to pay for them. I’m not just talking about Google-and-Microsoft-type companies, think anything mid-market enterprise and up. Due to your talent and demand for that talent it is fair to demand a high starting salary. A company may lowball you with an offer citing that you are “just” a junior developer and lack experience. Let’s say they offer you 70k. This may seem like a tempting offer to a new grad, but remember this company is not going to drastically increase your salary after you gain experience. This is just a tactic to lock in your labour at a low cost.

Repeat after me: “Im sitting on another offer with a salary of …”

Now, this may be controversial, but it doesn’t actually matter if you have another offer or not. I have many friends who have disclosed another offer in the…

--

--

Elizabeth Westphal

Lover of science and statistics, I write short data-backed articles and always cite my sources!